DUSK PETERSON: Historical speculative fiction on friendship, romantic friendship, and romance

Historical fantasy. Alternate history. Retrofuture science fiction. Love.

HOME | New stories | E-books | Awards | Story lists and tags | About me | Contact me

DUNGEON GUARDS: a Turn-of-the Century Toughs series ¶ By Dusk Peterson

In the Eternal Dungeon, there are only two types of guards: skilled guards or dead guards. But one guard has been both.

Dungeon Guards is an alternate history series about nineteenth-century prison workers who seek love and companionship as they fight together against danger.

The series is part of the Turn-of-the-Century Toughs cycle.



The Awakening (Volume 1 of Dungeon Guards)

Barrett Boyd has awakened from death to a new and baffling life. He knows that he is a guard in the queendom's royal prison, the Eternal Dungeon. But why do the prisoners matter so much to him? Who are these other guards who appear to have claims over him? And how will he survive while he finds his new place in this world?

As Barrett seeks to make sense of his surroundings, he must contend with a would-be love-mate, a grumbling rebel, deadly enemies, and the challenge of how to wield his expanded skills.


The Shining Ones. The Eternal Dungeon is filled with prisoners who shine like the sun.

PatreonArchive of Our OwnScribdAmazonSmashwordsGoodreads

Shot. Usually, the prisoners of the Eternal Dungeon are at risk of dying. On this night, their guards face death.

Before. He grew up under the care of a loving mother and father. Now he's about to meet them for the first time.

Tempest. He isn't prepared be swept off his feet.

Upcoming. To receive notice of Patreon releases and online fiction, subscribe to Dusk Peterson's e-mail list or blog. See below for a progress report on upcoming fiction in this series.

Maps and series resources

Maps for this series and related series.

Turn-of-the-Century Toughs, a cycle of historical speculative fiction series that includes this series. This page includes resources such as a chronology of major political events in the cycle.

Bibliography for this series:
Masculinity, Crime, and Everyday Life in Victorian and Edwardian Times.

Shared Universes: Works set in the world of The Eternal Dungeon (a companion series) by other authors and artists.

Progress report: status of upcoming stories

Updated November 2018. All titles and ordering are tentative at this point.

The Awakening (Volume 1).

Underground (Volume 2).

Side stories.

Other stories in the series aren't yet written.

Next series in the Turn-of-the-Century Toughs cycle:

[ Life Prison ]

[ HOME ] [ E-mail]

Creative Commons License: Some Rights ReservedThis text, or a variation on it, was originally published at duskpeterson.com as part of the series Dungeon Guards. Copyright © 2016-2020 Dusk Peterson. Some rights reserved. The text is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution Noncommercial License (creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0). You may freely print, post, e-mail, share, or otherwise distribute the text for noncommercial purposes, provided that you include this paragraph. The author's policies on derivative works and fan works are available online (duskpeterson.com/copyright.htm).

Logos are provided for the sake of identifying story links and are not intended to indicate affiliation with companies or organizations.

Permission is granted for the reposting and reprinting of the banner, covers, and story summaries for the purposes of providing information on Dusk Peterson's writings. Please link to duskpeterson.com if possible.